Failed Plans for Life and Value Canvases

image

After reading this fantastic piece, Because I’m a Twentysomething ,
I thought about my own life and my past expectations for my life.

No joke, before I graduated high school, I had my life ALL planned out. I honestly thought that by the age of 25, if not sooner, I would have a successful,  lucrative career as a psychologist or as a pharmacist (working towards owning my own practice or pharmacy, of course),  I would be married to the perfect man for me, I’d spend my spare time creating masterpiece paintings on ginormous canvases, and life would be pretty close to perfect.  Oh, and can’t forget, I would own a Dollar Tree store (NOT kidding. I even inluded it in my “plans for life after highschool” bit in my senior yearbook.).

Weeelllll, none of that has happened.  ZERO.

Here I am at the age of 26 (yes, an entire year past 25) with no lucrative career,  or any kind of “career” at all for that matter (I do have a job though!), no husband, no ginormous canvases (I only buy the value canvases, and usually in bulk), and my life is a good bit off from perfect. Additionally, I discovered that Dollar Tree stores aren’t a franchise, so I CAN’T own one. BOOM! Dreams shattered!

So my life must suck, Right???
WRONG!

Despite the multiple unimpressive aspects of my life, I’m actually quite happy. In reality, I don’t have much to complain about.
Sure, I’m far behind many others my age in many ways including my career, or lack of a career, and I don’t have a husband or children (but I certainly don’t want kids for a while either), but maybe God has different plans for me right now.

“For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

I know that God has certain plans for my life and as long as I trust in Him, everything will work out just fine. Now that doesn’t mean that life’s always going to go exactly as I’d like for it to, but the Big Man Upstairs definitely knows what’s best for me.
And no matter what struggles I may encounter, I’ll most likely remain happy cause I can still paint masterpieces (maybe?) on my value canvases, I can at least shop at Dollar Trees, I have loved ones who care about me, and I have the greatest thing of all, God’s unending and unconditional love and His gift of an eternal life. What more could I ask for?!

