Why I Don’t Cuss

Why I Don't CussI’m a Christian girl with strong beliefs living in a crazy world with people who believe very differently than I do. And that’s okay.

However, as a Christian, of course I want others to know God and His glory like I do.

Part of being a Christian and hopefully helping to spread God’s word involves being a good example. Whether I like it or not, as a Christian who doesn’t mind sharing it with others, people will have plenty of opportunities to judge me and (for lack of a better or actual word) my Christian-ness.

I’m absolutely nowhere close to being perfect or the perfect example of a Christian, but I have to at least try. Part of trying to be a great example of a Christian includes watching what I say and what I associate myself with.

A major aspect of watching what I say involves not cussing (aka cursing). If a non-believer was to hear me cussing it might negatively affect the opinion they have of both me and my Christian faith and could deter them from wanting to learn about God. Words are incredibly powerful and could a have much greater effect on someone than you’ll ever know.

“If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless.” James 1:26

While cussing is a simple, insignificant thing to many people, I don’t want to risk doing something that could tarnish the image a non-believer has of Christians and the Christian faith, which could ultimately lead them to not wanting to know about God.

Now, in the days of social media, I also follow a No Cuss Words rule for my forms of social media. This means that no matter how funny or amazing a picture or someone’s status on Facebook is, I will NOT “like” it if it contains any cuss words. Furthermore, if anyone ever posts a comment that contains a curse word on my page or a photo or status of mine, I will delete it. All of the little things including what I choose to say or share on Facebook help to build the kind of example I am to others.

“Let there be no filthiness nor foolish talk nor crude joking, which are out of place, but instead let there be thanksgiving” Ephesians 5:4

Plus, I really don’t understand the need for all of the profanity I see online and on Facebook from people I know.  It’s one thing to say a cuss word when you’re angry because it just slipped out. But to type one that could easily be erased courtesy of the backspace key is totally different. And I honestly think if you can’t come up with another word to use that isn’t a curse word, then you probably need to expand your vocabulary.

Though I’ve said all of this, I won’t lie, I’m 100% human and I’ve said cuss words before in times of anger. And, there’s a good chance I’ll probably say one or more again in my lifetime. I’m so thankful our God is so forgiving. But, I do my absolute best not to say cuss words at all and especially to never say any in public because I could be around non-believers and then all of the above comes into play.

I realize that some might think that I’m an uptight prude for thinking this way, but I honestly do not care At All.  I’d much rather be on good terms with my main man upstairs than with the people here on earth.

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing, and perfect will.” Romans 12:2

I understand that there are a lot of people who’s hearts are in the right place but have gotten into a bad habit of using profanity without even thinking about it. If you are someone who struggles with this and would like to change, I strongly suggest you take it to the Lord and pray about it. And, I’d be more than happy to pray for you as well if you let me know!

I encourage everyone to really and honestly think about the words you are choosing to use and how they might affect others and think before you say anything, whether it’s in real life or online.

Please take a look at the link below to read some scripture on this topic:

http://www.openbible.info/topics/using_profanity

