Why I DON’T Like Santa Claus

Ok, ok, I was kind of kidding. I actually do like Santa and I love Christmas time. However, there are some reasons to make me not like Santa.

First of all, I Hate the fact Christmas has become more about Santa and gifts than what it is really about: the birth of the best gift we could ever receive, baby Jesus. I see waaaayyyy more Christmas decorations that feature a jolly, white-bearded man versus ones that feature beautiful little baby Jesus.

And then there are the numerous Christmas movies about Santa and his precious elves and reindeer. Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a good Christmas movie. Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer happens to be one of my favorite movies of all time (FYI, I love claymation!). But why aren’t there more popular Christmas movies about the journey of Joseph and Mary on a donkey to deliver our Lord and Savior instead of the journey of Santa on his sleigh to deliver toys? (Hypothetical question, I understand the reasons why.)

And now, there’s the whole Elf on the Shelf craze. I get it, it’s a great way to get your kiddos who are hyped on too many holiday sweets to behave. And that little elf is pretty darn cute. Just remember, you can always tell your children that God is always watching, no elf needed!

And another major reason to not like Santa Claus is how do you explain to a child from a less fortunate family why Santa only brought him one toy for Christmas while spoiled brat little Billy over there got tons of toys? And how can a child rationalize the reason that, although she was always on her best behavior and Santa supposedly brings toys to good little boys and girls, she didn’t get any gifts for Christmas because in actuality her family couldn’t afford anything?

When I was a child I loved reading an old Christmas book that was my Mom’s from when she was a kid. In it, there was a page that showed a letter written to Santa by a little girl asking why she didn’t get anything for Christmas. Though it made my heart hurt, for some reason I always made a point to read it. I still believed in Santa at that point so I probably didn’t quite understand it completely, but it left a lasting impression on me. I still think of that letter in that book every year around Christmas time. Now that I’m older and do understand why that little girl didn’t get anything for Christmas it makes my heart hurt even more. But I always try to do what I can to help those who are less fortunate and hope to one day be able to do more. I think that is where part of the real beauty of Christmas lies. God placed his Son on this earth to die for our sins, so the very least we can do is give a little bit of our time, money, and effort to help others and spread His glory.

Despite all of these reasons not to like Santa, I certainly believed in Santa Claus, his little elves, and reindeer as a child and I’m sure my future children probably will too. Believing in Santa is exciting and quite harmless as long as children know to focus on the true reason for Christmas and that it really IS better to give than to receive.

